318786_10151596537465929_1318681758_n

Hi Everyone,

I am a second year residential MLIS student. Before grad school, I was from Colorado where I worked in a couple of libraries and got my teaching degree in Early Childhood Education.

Currently I work for the Seattle Public Library as a Page and volunteer at the Washington Talking Book and Braille library, among other things.  In my free time I love hanging out with friends, reading YA books, traveling, and going on walks (even in the rain J).

After graduation, I am planning to pursue a career as a children or teen services librarian in a public or school library. My vision as a 21st century librarian is to cultivate a youth’s love of reading through the simple act of a carefully selected text, to develop a library atmosphere where patrons feel welcome and engaged enough to learn about the world in a global perspective, and to connect the library with the larger community through outreach: amid neighboring schools, with individual families, and in community partnerships.

I am very excited to meet all of you. If you have time to get involved even in a small way with iYouth please do! I look forward to hanging out, messing around, and geeking out with all of you in the year to come!!!

Leave a Reply

